Nuts.

When the squirrel popped his head up over the wall I was in the bathtub. Luckily he could only see my head but I sat coyly regardless. The water was tepid and I could see the hairs standing on end across the parts of my leg which weren’t submerged. The squirrel whispered a blue joke from across the wall and I gave him a look of disapproval. I had always been a little prudish. This was the third week he had come to sit on the wall outside my bathroom window and I worried he might never leave. I faced forward and thought about the difference between baking powder and bicarbonate of soda. I needed to make a cake and the list of ingredients troubled me. From the corner of my eye I could see the squirrel. His stare remained unbroken. I contemplated for moments about the possibility he might have X-ray vision and I crossed my legs. When I looked back, he was gone. He had left two nuts on the wall and a tree branch dangling between the two. I smiled initially and then winced, considering his intentions. Then I shut the window.

Leave a Reply

