Someone I used to love.

Someone I used to love is almost skipping down the steps at Waterloo bridge at sunset.

Someone I used to love is peering through the gaps in the stairs at me and smiling.

Someone I used to love embraces me like an old friend; The oldest of friends.

Someone I used to love is buying me drinks.

Someone I used to love is suggesting a quick bite to eat.

Someone I used to love is buying more drinks.

Someone I used to love is reminiscing about the past; the same stories as always.

Someone I used to love is getting drunker by the minute.

Someone I used to love is skipping down the road with me arm in arm.

Someone I used to love is laughing with me and I am laughing more than I have in a long time.

Someone I used to love is leaning in and lingering near my face in silence.

Someone I used to love says don’t cycle home, you’re too drunk, come stay at mine. 

Someone I used to love is the last thing I think about when i go to sleep that night and lots of nights that follow. 

Someone I used to love could have been my forever love, once upon a time

Leave a Reply

